Thoughts about the 2011 Season


The ski-doos have been parked on the north side of the property, and they may not move till November, as my mind switches to Spring and gardening.

I wasn’t going to plant any new tomato varieties this year but broke down and bought a couple more packs of seeds. Heck, I’m not old enough to stop experimenting with tomato varieties.

One of the two new varities is the Manitoba. It is an early ripen red medium tomato – supposedly ripen in 55-60 days from transplant to outside (final pot, garden etc). We’ll see. It may prove to be as good as Early Girl. And I have this vague memory of growing some before, though I cannot remember how it went.

The other type was F1 (Fried Green). I was a bit disappointed by the number of seeds in this pack – maybe 20. For $2.95 this is quite pricey. Hopefully they will do well and amaze our palletes. This variety turns Yellow, and is medium sized I think, but the pack claims they make for a good frying tomato while still apple green. Anyway, ready in 75 days from transplant. I will likely be picking them green but that is par for the course this far north.

I have been organizing last year’s mess in my green house. I am planning to put in skylights and to built stand up tomato planters (troughs). More on these improvements as things develop.

 

 

Leave a Reply

