Update – July 16


The garden is doing well.

I did tie up my tomato plants in the greenhouse, but one was not tied that well. A big branch bent over (most of the plant but no fruit yet).  Not sure it will make but now I tied it up too.

Overall tomato production appears to be way up from last year. Around the end of July 2010, I had about 100 tomatoes on 32 plants. Well as of July 9, I had 56 on about 33-34 plants. I’m about to go do another count.

The lettuce seed I sowed about 2 weeks ago has mostly come up. I think I’m going to continue with this method of seeding a tray without the plugs. The sprouts are easy enough to separate when transplanting, and they are less likely to back. Plus it is easier than filling 72 holes with dirt etc… Less plastic contact in the heat too. I may make some seeding trays out of wood – also would help with heat retention and heat control…no boiling….).

Peas are growing madly but I’m getting some of the same nonsense last year with some shoots dying. Not sure why. I think some pull others out. Trying to train them to grow up the bamboo and the chicken wire but it is like herding cats….

Planning to venture in the compost. I think I may dump it in a pit and with loose dirt via a sieve of sorts….we’ll see.

Anyway later, and happy gardening to all….

BTW, weird bug activity.
Just like last year, there was this birth of 100s of white flies. They don’t seem to cause a problem but they just appeared everywhere around the garden on the deck and my standing planters below the deck. Weird. Any insights anyone?

And, I saw this strange bug, moving from petunia to petunia flower a few days back…feasting on the nectar as far as I could tell. It had a body at least an inch, maybe two long. The abdomen was stripped – white and black (was looking through a screen). The wings were largish…moth size and were moving like a hummingbird’s wings…well… ‘ish. And it had a set of attennae on the head (kind of curly/spirally at the ends). It was sort of a cross between a moth and a bee. Mothbee? Anyone have any insights?

Leave a Reply

