April 14


Planted tomato seeds on March 30. So far most have sprouted. Might plant a few more to make up for those that didn’t. However, I think I have enough – somewhere around 25 plants.
I have been building raised planters. So far three are completed as far as the wood goes (sanding and painting of the outsides, plus lining and filling still to do be done), one has legs and one more a bottom.
The snow was melting quite fast but the cold returned with unseasonable lows. I like the sun, though. Getting down to – 20C tonight..highs of around -8C or so.
Will start some basil soon. This will be the year of basil for my garden.
The night time lows are forecasted to get better near Thursday/Friday. So I may plant some lettuce seed in the greenhouse.

4 thoughts on “April 14

  1. High YK Gardener. Fascinated with your ability to plant at such a northern latitude. Very keen to have my own produce when living in Norman Wells, but will need to do a LOT of research. Your blog will help 🙂 Did you plant your tomato seeds and basil in trays indoors? Or in glasshouse? Is your gh heated? I hope to at least grow herbs and perhaps mixed lettuce leaves on my windowsill. Can this be done most of the year round?

  2. Thanks, I started my tomato plants and basil, from seed, inside under flourescent lights. I’ve heard that there are people growing potatoes on a small commercial scale in Norman Wells. My GH isn’t heated. It is plastic sheeting (templast) with glass windows. I would say that poly would work well too. In NW you would get a lot light early on so that would keep things warm for those lows in the spring.
    You can start stuff from window light – the longer it lasts the better (ie exposure). Year round is tricky. About half of my rosemary made it through this year on natural light alone, and not the best exposure – east primarily. I would think the death of the other half was primarily due to over watering.

Leave a Reply

