April 18-Update


The weather is too cold at night to bother starting seeds in my greenhouse. Still waiting for the lows to drop below -10C.

Most of my tomatoes began sprouting on April the 9th. On the 13th I planted more seeds in the plugs that hadn’t sprouted – mostly older seeds.

Started a mass plant of lettuce indoors: Romaine, Iceberg, Small Butterhead and Red Romaine.
Most of the lettuce varieties I planted have long maturity timelines…up to 70 days.

I’m thinking of starting some more indoors that will be ready in about 40 days. One of the problems is that I have dozens of heads ready for harvest in early July but nothing much in June. It would be nice to be self-sufficient sooner in lettuce. My spouse (primarily), my son and I eat about six small to medium sized heads a day.

I’d prefer to start my lettuce outside, so that it is hardier for early transplant, but starting inside is likely what is needed to get a jump start on things. Lettuce started in April, in the greenhouse, grows very slowly. The benefit of starting in the greenhouse, or straight in their final resting spots, is that you don’t have to transplant as much and you have the space.

Leave a Reply

