May 27 Update


Things have warmed up considerably here in the last two days. It is warm enough to leave plants out over night for the next few nights but it is still good to keep a daily (couple three times) watch on the weather.

Berry bushes have all appeared to come back. My two big Saskatoon bushes are pushing up new shoots from the ground.

Some lettuce and many vines(nasturshiums)  that I had planted in late April just came up about a week or less ago – just before I was going to dump the soil.

Tomato plants are doing well. I bought three from Arctic Farmer (one that claims to be ripe in 42 days, a Black zebra and a Yellow Flame). They are bit stringy – which I found surprising, compared to my own which have the same number of tiers of branches, but otherwise look good. They were grown by them it. Arctic Farmer’s greenhouse is very cool – jam packed, very hot and moist. It was a nice spot of respite from a horribly cold late May day that last Saturday was. I didn’t buy any flowers – b/c of the cold and the fact that I’m not ready for them yet. Need to prep pots.

I have been prepping planters for carrots and beets. I finished building, painting, and mounting two more pea planters this weekend. Lattice is essentially finished. We’re going wood cutting this weekend, and went before on the long weekend. After this weekend I should be able to commit more time to ready the rest of the planters for root veggies and lettuce, as well as get my flower pots ready and planted. Tomato and basil planters will be last.

 

 

Leave a Reply

